All users

Workplace Online > Devices

Installing Workplace Desktop

When you first sign on to Workplace Online, Workplace Desktop will automatically download.

If you want to change the Workplace account associated with Workplace Desktop , Workplace Desktop must be completely removed and reinstalled.

Workplace Desktop 5.2 for Windows introduced the ability to silently install on a user’s machine via an Endpoint Management tool. For more information, refer to Silent Installation.

Install Workplace Desktop

You must have administrator privileges on the device in order to install Workplace Desktop, regardless of operating system. On Windows devices, you may be prompted for your credentials if the User Account Control feature is enabled.

If Workplace Desktop does not download for any reason, or if you wish to install Workplace Desktop on an additional machine:

  1. Login to Workplace Online.
  1. Go to Devices.
  2. Click on + Install Workplace on this Computer.

Alternatively, you may download Workplace Desktop directly from the Download link on the Workplace Login page.

  1. Follow the onscreen instructions to complete the installation and, when prompted, enter your Workplace username and password.

Uninstall Workplace Desktop

Please close any files associated with Workplace before uninstalling Workplace Desktop.

Mac:

  1. Click the  icon in the menu bar and select Preferences…
  2. Click the About tab.
  3. Click Uninstall.
  4. When prompted, you will see the following message:

If you intend to reinstall Workplace Desktop and associate it with the same account, select Keep Settings.

If you intend to reinstall Workplace Desktop and associate it with a different Workplace account, click Delete Settings.

  1. You will see the following message:

Click Yes to retain your Workplace data. If you click No, you will lose all Workplace data currently stored on your machine.

Windows:

  1. Go to the Control Panel > Programs and Features.
  2. Select Datto Workplace.
  3. Click Uninstall. The Would you like to retain the user configuration settings? prompt appears:

    Selecting Yes will cause Workplace Desktop to automatically reconnect with the same user credentials when it is reinstalled. All data synced to the device will remain stored on the device.
  4. If you select No, an additional popup is displayed, which allows you to decide whether to retain the data stored on the device:


    Select Yes to keep the Workplace folder intact with all the synced data.

    Selecting No will result in all synced data being immediately and permanently deleted from the device.

Folders synced via the Folder Sync tab will never be removed when Workplace Desktop is uninstalled. If files exist on the machine running Workplace Desktop that have not been synced to the Workplace service, Workplace Desktop will alert you and request confirmation before removing the local files.

Uninstall when running multiple instances of Workplace Desktop

When uninstalling the conventional way, Workplace Desktop and all files associated with the user performing the uninstall are removed from the machine.

In a scenario in which multiple instances of Workplace Desktop are running under different user accounts on one machine, the process below can be used to only remove the files associated with the user performing this process – Workplace Desktop will remain installed, allowing the other user accounts to continue to use Workplace as they normally would.

To remove the Workplace account from a single Windows user account:

  1. Open the Run command dialog
  2. Enter dwp:reset
  3. Click OK

The standard uninstall dialog will appear. Select No in the first dialog box to remove all the supporting files related to the instance of Workplace Desktop installed under this Windows user profile.